On the Subject of Giving Credit Where It’s Due.

This morning, while sitting, scrolling through Tumblr (something I rarely do, lots of cliches, you know), a thought I’m almost positive is brand new to me popped into my head.

Do you think all those writers who write scripts for those famous movies ever feel completely unrecognized? All those actors who say those words that stick in our minds and morph into famous movie quotes, repeated by everyone and their dog, whether they ever see the movie or not…

Don’t you think the writers get pissed? They get none of the glory!

True, the actor gives life to the character. Their job is to inject a persona, an authentic flavor, a believable emotion into what would otherwise be nothing but words typed on a piece of paper. The good ones do that, anyway. Hollywood, in my opinion, is getting lazy about the idiots they allow to say lines in front of camera nowadays. But that is neither here nor there I guess.

But really, the actors aren’t usually the ones to come up with those clever one-liners or the one-of-a-kind catchphrases. They don’t create that unique, irreverent quotation that will one day be turned into a pop culture question in Trivial Pursuit.

I know it’s silly. No one knows who those people are, and there’s probably a reason for that. I mean, for all we know, the guy who decided that Rose would “never let go” or the lady who wrote the famous “Bueller….Bueller…..Bueller….” scene, could be very unattractive people. Like, fat, pimply, never shower, socially awkward human beings. It’s entirely possible.

But still…that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t get credit for knocking one out of the park. These are the people that tug at our heart strings, make us cry from laughing, or have a strong urge to punch someone in the face.

The actors give the words life, but they don’t give the movie the words. You can’t have a movie without words.

So, movie writers…You fucking rock!

This post has morphed into a creature unlike any I’ve seen before my very eyes.

I didn’t mean for it to apply only to script writers. I mean give people credit for the shit they do. And if you don’t get any, find a way to get some.

You go, Glen CoCo.

You go get ’em.

About cheekystars123

I write what I know. I don't know a lot. But I know how to put thoughts into words. These are my thoughts; constantly contradicting themselves, swinging between the pendulum of extremes, never censored. I'm not as sane as my friends think I am, but I'm not as psychotic as I convey myself anonymously. So what does that make me? A rare breed? I like to think so. But I'm probably not as interesting as I'd like to believe. Aside from that, I tend to be a sarcastic bitch with rage problems. Don't believe a word I say, I'm probably definitely lying about most of it to make myself seem more interesting.
This entry was posted in Humans, Humor, Observations, People and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Subject of Giving Credit Where It’s Due.

Leave a Reply

