A Piece of Free Advice that Doesn’t Encourage Alcoholism

20120421-132141.jpg

This gem arrived in the post today from my best friend in the whole wide world. I’ll just go ahead and refer to her as Sheila because I call her that, even though it has nothing to do with her name.

Sheila’s had some shit thrown at her lately, and how she’s more sane than I…it’s just one of those things that blows my mind.

Through her ordeals, I’ve been there for her, of course. It’s what a best friend of over a decade is supposed to do. Even if they live 10 hours away.

The thing about Sheila, though, is that she doesn’t just say how she appreciates you. She makes sure you know.

So here is the free piece of advice promised in the title:

Find a friend like Sheila. One who accepts you for who you are, and will never judge you. Part of this is on you, though. You can’t expect someone to be free of judgement unless you are, too.

That’s the thing about Sheila and I; even though we’ve known each other for well over a decade, our weird quirks and faults didn’t come out all at once. But we’ve learned about each other over time. And we didn’t say, “fuck it” when the other did something stupid.

We both know what true loyalty is, and we both know there aren’t many other people out there that do.

To have a friend that has stuck beside me through eating disorders, bad relationships, depression, and every other fucked up thing I’ve experienced…it’s just a true fucking gift.

This all sounds cheesy, but it is the God-honest truth. Find those people who can help you through anything, and be willing to do the exact same.

I can’t tell you the happiness I feel when she calls me with a problem she’s having, and recognizes that I know her better than most. It reminds me that I have the same thing, and it’s a relief.

So, find a friend who thinks about you and appreciates you enough to send you:

-Stephen King’s novel Misery. She knows I’m a huge fan of Stephen’s, first of all. And I’ve never had the pleasure of reading this one. So her instructions are to have it read by summer so we can drink wine and have scholarly discussions. Bad ass. Right?

Keeping You a Secret. What she says is a “stupid lesbian love story”. I’m excited, personally.

-A picture in a frame from a day we dubbed “Culture Day”. We went to a museum and a zoo. Classy. And delightful.

-A mix CD she made while stoned. Lovely.

-A DVD she borrowed from the home-schoolers (yeah, idk either) entitled “Kung Fu Hustle”. Not only that, but a sweet pic of me from the wonder years in the cover of the case. The “wonder years” meaning circa 8th grade. Braces, enough said. And she already warned me she has the original.

-Tickets for stiff drinks (she knows me)

-Trident Layers. I get paid to be her friend… In gum. 🙂

-Last but not least, a letter. The best part that made me smile huge and tear up at the same time. Also covered in Harry Potter stickers.

You’ll never find a friend as awesome as Sheila, but I wish you all the best of luck in finding one who is just as loyal. Everyone deserves someone like her as a best friend. Trust me.

About cheekystars123

I write what I know. I don't know a lot. But I know how to put thoughts into words. These are my thoughts; constantly contradicting themselves, swinging between the pendulum of extremes, never censored. I'm not as sane as my friends think I am, but I'm not as psychotic as I convey myself anonymously. So what does that make me? A rare breed? I like to think so. But I'm probably not as interesting as I'd like to believe. Aside from that, I tend to be a sarcastic bitch with rage problems. Don't believe a word I say, I'm probably definitely lying about most of it to make myself seem more interesting.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Humans, Humor, Movies, Music, Observations, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Piece of Free Advice that Doesn’t Encourage Alcoholism

  1. Sheila says:

    I love you Melinda Jones.

Leave a Reply

